Books I Remember: A Wrinkle in Time

A Wrinkle in TimeI remember my Mother reading Madeleine L’Engle’s A Wrinkle in Time first.  I remember her enthusiasm about the book and her eagerness to get me to read it.  I also remember my stubbornness.  I did not want to read it.  I did not want to read it because my Mother recommended it.  It is strange how that Mother-daughter relationship works at times.  As we grow up we fight for our independence, even at eleven years old I knew – or I thought I knew what I liked.  I did finally give in and read A Wrinkle in Time and it has been one of my favorite books of all time.  My Mother was right.

In A Wrinkle in Time, Madeleine L’Engle creates a rich and highly developed world where there is a Mrs. Whatsit, a Mrs. Who, and a Mrs. Which.  Not to mention, there is the clever protagonist fourteen year old Meg Murry, as well as her extraordinary little brother, Charles Wallace Murry.  These two, along with Calvin O’Keefe, must travel to an unusual place called Camazotz, an alien planet dominated by the “Black Thing,” to rescue Meg’s and Charles Wallace’s father.  Meg’s independence and fierce protection over those she loves is what makes me love her so very much.  Madeleine L’Engle’s vivid and complex storytelling makes A Wrinkle in Time a great read for those of any age.

Age Group: 9+ (Great story to read aloud)
Genre: Fiction, Fantasy
Available in various editions
Reading Level: 4.7

3 Comments

Filed under Middle Grade Books

3 responses to “Books I Remember: A Wrinkle in Time

  1. Kim

    When my daughter resists reading a book, I start reading it to her. Usually, she gets impatient waiting for a time when we can both sit down and read so she picks up the book and finishes it herself.

  2. loretta

    You are doing a great job with this site. Coolness!

Leave a Reply

