Addictive Reads: The Hunger Games & The Maze Runner

These are the first books of two series you should read, if you haven’t already.  The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins and The Maze Runner by James Dashner reignited my unconditional love for young adult books.  I became extraordinarily excited about recommending these books to any 12+.  There is always the occasional teen that seems utterly unmoved by my enthusiasm and instead just shrugs the book away.  But then there are others who place their faith in my love and excitement for these books, or any books.  I love to have that person return to the bookstore and say, “I couldn’t put it down.”

The Hunger Games
Sixteen-year-old Katniss takes care of her mother and sister by hunting for food just outside the city wall.  If the Capital ever found out about these hunting excursions she would be punished, severely, but this becomes the least of her problems.  In The Hunger Games, Suzanne Collins creates a terrifying world in which one boy and one girl from each of the twelve districts must be sent to the Hunger Games – a fight to the death.  Katniss is determined to return home, back to her family, but can she survive the games.  The sequel, Catching Fire, was equally amazing!

Age Group: 12+
Genre: Young Adult Book, Teen
Themes: Science Fiction, Televised Contests, Interpersonal Relationships, Survival
Publisher: Scholastic
Reading Level: 5.3

The Maze Runner--

In James Dashner’s The Maze Runner, Thomas awakes in an elevator shaft in a place called the Glade unable to remember a thing, only his name.  He soon discovers that he and the other boys living in the Glade must stay there until they figure out the ever-changing maze, but it’s not that easy.  If you stay out in the maze after dark then the walls, enclosing the Glade, close and the Grievers come out.  Many of the boys don’t want to leave the Glade and have a sneaking suspicion that life outside is far worse.

Age Group: 12+
Genre: Young Adult Book, Teen
Themes: Science Fiction, Social Issues, Survival, Labrynths
Publisher: Delacorte Press Books for Young Readers
Reading Level: 5.3

7 Comments

Filed under Young Adult Books

7 responses to “Addictive Reads: The Hunger Games & The Maze Runner

  1. Doppelganger

    You did not give me these very interesting looks into these particular books when you told me about them, even though you were super enthusiastic in your recommendations. So now I’m moving these books from my general reading list to the top of my winter reading list. I’m really excited! Thanks!

  2. Doppelganger

    I’m so glad you have a blog now! I learn so much with each new post!

  3. I really like the Hunger Games and Catching Fire, and I am glad that you like them also. I think that the Hunger Games is so good because something is always happening and it never slows down. It is a very exciting read.

    http://themockingjay.vndv.com

    • Thanks for the link to that Hunger Games site. I wanted to add on some links because both Hunger Games and Maze Runner have a great web presence. Be sure to check out The Maze Runner!

  4. crystal

    i agree.. i really enjoyed reading hunger games and catching fire.. the story was well put and very exciting.. i never wanted to put it down!! i think i’ll read maze runner after im finished with my current book..

Leave a Reply

