Zombies, Zombies, Zombies!

Max Brooks, author of The Zombie Survival Guide, creates a vivid zombie infested world in his “novel” World War Z. Brooks is even the interviewer in the book! World War Z is set up as an historical account of the world leading up to zombie infestation and then the subsequent aftermath. Brooks interviews different people from all over the world in order to gain this historical perspective. The novel reads very fast and at times I found myself feeling the need to prepare a zombie survival kit along with my earthquake kit!
Good for Adults and Mature Teen.

My new favorite young adult book is The Forest of Hands and Teeth by Carrie Ryan. This zombie novel features a young girl, Mary, trying to understand the world outside of the “fence.” The village Mary lives in is surrounded by a fence and on the other side is the “forest of hands and teeth,” named that because of the zombies inhabiting that side of the world. Mary’s mother tells her of a mythical place, the ocean, and Mary is convinced that she must find it. But this is not what the sisterhood wants Mary to believe or do. Could there be life outside her world surrounded by so much death? I haven’t read the sequel yet, but can’t wait. It was released on March 9th!

And if you haven’t had enough flesh eating walking dead, then check out The Living Dead, edited by John Joseph Adams. This anthology of zombie short stories is a real treat from great authors like: Clive Barker, Stephen King, Neil Gaiman, and Kelly Link! Excellent for teens and older.

4 Comments

Filed under Young Adult Books

4 responses to “Zombies, Zombies, Zombies!

  1. modestonfire

    I love Forest of Hands and Teeth. Carrie Ryan’s Dead-Tossed Waves, the next book in the series came out yesterday.

  2. Doppelganger

    I’m definitely putting “The Forest of Hands and Teeth” on my reading list. You’ve managed to get me hooked on Zombie books. I never thought I’d see the day! 🙂

  3. Lou

    The Forest of Hands and Teeth was gripping. I was on the edge of my seat the whole time and even had my husband reading it. He has just finished The Dead Tossed Waves and loved that also. Carrie Ryan is a master at creating suspense and in my case – fear. Heart pounding.

Leave a Reply

