What’s a Wombat!

I live in the United States where the only wombat around might exist in a zoo, but when I read Jackie French’s Diary of a Wombat I fell in love with these pudgy little creatures.
So, what is a wombat?

Wombats are Australian marsupials.

Marsupials are a type of mammals, who have pouches and their babies or youngs live in their mothers pouches for a specific amount of time drinking their mothers milk in the pouch.

Other marsupial animals are kangaroos, bandicoots and opossums to name a few.

Wombats are short-legged, muscular quadrupeds (4-legged animals), approximately 1 meter (39 inches) in length with a very short tail.

Wombats are found in forested, mountainous areas of South-Eastern Australia and Tasmania. The name wombat came from the Eora Aboriginal community who were the original inhabitants of the Sydney area.  Info courtesy of Wombat.info.

Jackie French’s book, Diary of a Wombat, is quite literally a wombat’s diary. She brings to life the simplistic and utterly adorable life of this animal through her text:
French teams up with illustrator Bruce Whatley who captures the wombat’s movement and shape perfectly.  Not only do I want a wombat, but I also feel I have found my true kindred spirit in this pudgy animal.  I can’t wait until her sequel comes out in the States, Diary of a Baby Wombat.
Age Group: 2 and up
Genre: Illustrated Book
Themes: Humor, Animals, Australia, Diary
Publisher: Clarion, Imprint of Houghton Mifflin Harcourt

4 Comments

Filed under Picture Books

4 responses to “What’s a Wombat!

  1. Pingback: What’s a Wombat! | rsstimes.net

  2. Doppelganger

    Haha! Other than the “ate grass” part, I’d agree! I definitely want to be a wombat.

  3. Heather

    I ***love*** Jackie French’s book “Diary of a Wombat” – it is one of my absolute favorites!! I hadn’t realized that there was a new book (“Diary of a Baby Wombat”) – i can’t wait to get my hands on it! Thanks for the post!

Leave a Reply

