I Am Number Four

Review by Nōn Wels: Check out his writing/political/philosophy blog, A Thousand Screaming Rabbits

Typically, I like to read the book before I see the movie. And I am not entirely certain why that is the case. Perhaps, as I often hear, it’s a matter of preserving the vision you have created after reading the book. This way, the characters, the imagery, they are your own, not to be muddled by the perceptions of the filmmakers. Or, rather, maybe it’s to do with the fact that the book almost always precedes the film, and there is some sort of unnamed hierarchy or chronological importance tied to it.

Frankly, I have no idea. The order, in some respects, is irrelevant. But I’ll let you make that decision.

As I intimated, this wasn’t one of my typical moments. After seeing the movie, I was inspired to pick up a copy of the book I Am Number Four, written by Pittacus Lore.

The story is a fine mix of high school adolescence, coming-of-age and science fiction. John, the protagonist, is an alien from the planet Lorien. One of nine warriors (or “Garde”) in total, John is Number Four (hence the title). This is significant because the Mogadorians, the other non-Earth entities, are out to kill John and all of the rest of the Garde. The caveat, however, is that they need to kill in order, from One through Nine.

After finding out that Number Three had been killed, John and his guardian, or “Cepan,” Henri move, once again (they are always on the move), to the little town of Paradise, Ohio. It is in this town they are both faced with their toughest challenge yet.

With the Mogadorians close on their trail, John and Henri must make a choice. Do they stay in Paradise, alongside John’s new girlfriend Sarah, his friend Sam, the geeky conspiracy theorist, Bernie Kosar, the mysterious yet loveable beagle, and the first place they ever felt at home?

With John’s developing “Legacies,” or powers, do they stay and fight to protect their new home?

You’ll have to pick up a copy to find out for yourself!

Just know that you’re in for an enjoyable ride.

Oh, and a ride that contains telekinesis, shape-shifting creatures, and, you know, things like fighting daggers that consume the energies of living plants and trees for their source of power. Little things like that.

Check out the movie’s official website.

Age Group: 12 and up (Contains bad language and teenage/adult content)
Genre: Young Adult / Science Fiction / Fantasy
Themes: Science Fiction, Aliens, Teenagers, Superhero
Publisher: HarperCollins

4 Comments

Filed under Nōn Talbot Wels, Young Adult Books

4 responses to “I Am Number Four

  1. loretta obstfeld

    Nicely written. You are a word smith.

  2. Excellent review Non – I actually love to see the movie first when it comes to big, over the top, action films like Harry Potter…and “I Am Number Four”

    I find that otherwise I am shouting at the screen because they left out scenes and in some cases (Perry Jackson) whole characters. Doesn’t make me popular at the movie theater ;-D

    Robyn Hawk

  3. I yell at the movie screen too! We should never go together. We will be kicked out.

  4. Thanks Lo.

    And thanks Robyn! I still need to see the Percy Jackson movie. I’ve only read the first in the series.

Leave a Reply

