Brian Selznick and My First Giveaway Schmiveaway!

On Thursday, October 20th, I worked the Brian Selznick book event for A Whale of a Tale Children’s Bookshoppe.  Selznick was wonderful!  He gave a captivating presentation about his writing process, specifically in regards to his latest book Wonderstruck (review to come soon).  The entire event was loads of fun.  If Brian Selznick is EVER in your area and you have a chance to listen to him speak about books and writing then I INSIST you go!!  One audience member asked Selznick, “What is your favorite book?”  He answered, “Fortunately” by Remy Charlip.”  He then began quoting the book and the entire audience, including myself, could see why he loves this book — it sounds hilarious.  Here is an excerpt:

Fortunately, Ned was invited to a surprise party.

Unfortunately, the party was a thousand miles away.

Fortunately, a friend loaned Ned an airplane.

Unfortunately, the motor exploded.

Fortunately, there was a parachute in the airplane.

Unfortunately, there was a hole in the parachute.

Selznick also showed us a quick behind-the-scenes/trailer for the movie Hugo.  It looks so amazing.  It actually gives me chills.  I know.  I am a weirdo.  But just watch it and tell me you don’t get all tingly when that thematic song plays in the background and the images of Hugo Cabret come to life!  You are made of steel and cold-hearted if you don’t get chills.

I was able to have Brian Selznick sign both of my books along with a Hugo movie poster.  This leads me to my first GIVEAWAY!!!  I will be selecting one lucky individual to receive the Hugo movie poster signed by Brian Selznick!

I have already started accepting entries into the Giveaway.  You can enter by subscribing to Read Schmead and by posting comments.  Basically every subscriber is automatically entered into the contest.  For every comment you post I will enter your name into the contest again.

Here are some more photos from the event:

Most the seats were full at The Murray Center in Mission Viejo, CA

Myself, Brian Selznick, and Alex

 

Also, don’t forget you can buy signed copies of Brian Selznick’s books at A Whale of a Tale Children’s Bookshoppe!  Call us at 949-854-8288!!

12 Comments

Filed under Events, Giveaway Schmiveaway, Middle Grade Books

12 responses to “Brian Selznick and My First Giveaway Schmiveaway!

  1. Janet

    Now I really wish I could have gone to the event. 😦 Lauren and I are reading Wonderstruck together and it’s amazing. We are halfway through and it’s getting very intriguing. The teacher at school is reading Hugo to the kids but I think I’ll need to read it with L at home, I don’t want to miss that experience. Must read before seeing the movie!

    • Have you guys read From the Mixed-Up Files of Mrs. Basil E Frankweiler? Brian Selznick said that he referenced that book a lot. I just finished The Mixed-Up Files and it is so delightful. I highly recommend it. I really enjoyed it as an audiobook — great reader!

  2. Wow, the event looked like a lot of fun! I’m itching to see Hugo in theaters now after that trailer. I can’t wait to read Wonderstruck and I’m sure it’s just as amazing as The Invention of Hugo Cabret. Thanks so much for sharing!

  3. Oh, how wonderful! Sounds like a joyous time! 🙂

  4. Cynthia Dobson

    Nicely written, Jessica! Keep us posted on all your events

  5. I put my bag of books from SCIBA and my Hugo poster got smooshed 😦 sigh. Hmm, maybe I’ll distress it some more and frame it that way… “antiqued”, haha! See you Sunday at The Why Chromosome!

  6. Bookaholic

    My 9-year-old daughter had such a great time at the talk– and Brian Selznick signed her _Wonderstruck_ book report, told her it was probably the first book report on the book, and gave her an A+. 🙂 She had already read _Hugo Cabret_ and couldn’t wait for _Wonderstruck_ when it came out. It would be fun to have a signed poster of the movie– thanks for the opportunity to try! 🙂

Leave a Reply

